Do. 10.10.24
Brucknerhaus Linz
Vergöttern – Bruckners 9. Sinfonie im Originalklang

François-Xavier Roth & Les Siècles

François Xavier Roth © Holger Talinski

Bruckner's symphonies in their original sound

Anton Bruckner began composing the Symphony No. 9 in D minor on August 12, 1887, just two days after he had (initially) completed the 'Eighth'. The fact that he was unable to complete it before his death on October 11, 1896 was less due to age or a decline in creative powers than to a three-year interruption in work on the new work, during which he undertook a fundamental revision of four of his symphonies. Bruckner is said to have confided to his doctor shortly before his death that he wanted to dedicate the 'Ninth ' "to the good Lord" in the hope "that he will give me enough time" to"complete it". The three-movement torso, as which he left the symphony at the end, pushes forward to the limits of tonality through the "unrestrained unleashing of the harmonic centrifugal forces" and thus opens the door to the music of the 20th century wide open.

The monumental fragment is combined with Wolfgang Amadé Mozart's Symphony No. 41 in C major, which the concert organizer Johann Peter Salomon, probably at the beginning of the 19th century, gave the nickname "Jupiter" to express the almost divine perfection of this symphonic masterpiece, which has never been surpassed, as well as with Bernd Alois Zimmermann's Stille und Umkehr, orchestral sketches which, written a few months before the composer's suicide, make abandonment and resignation sound in a harrowing way.

For the crowning finale of the symphony cycle, the original sound orchestra Les Siècles and its founder, the star conductor François-Xavier Roth, which is in demand and acclaimed worldwide, make it possible to experience the last symphonies or orchestral pieces of three great composers from three centuries as divine, godforsaken and god-pleasing works.

Wolfgang Amadé Mozart (1756-1791)

Symphony No. 41 ("Jupiter") in C major, KV 551 (1788)

- Pause -

Anton Bruckner (1824-1896)

Symphony No. 9 in D minor, WAB 109 (1887-94)


Les Siècles

François-Xavier Roth | Conductor

Subscribe to the newsletter ...

log on
Cookie Consent with Real Cookie Banner