Sa. 21.09.24
Brucknerhaus Linz
Beginnen - Bruckners 1. Sinfonie im Originalklang

Christoph Spering & Das Neue Orchester

Christoph Spering © S. Kunde

Bruckner's symphonies in their original sound

The juxtaposition of the first works of two 'late symphonists' - Anton Bruckner and Johannes Brahms were already 43 years old at the premiere of their 'First' - makes it clear that the symphonies of these supposed antipodes have a common root: Ludwig van Beethoven, whose Coriolan Overture in C minor is not coincidentally followed by the symphonies in the concerto, each in the same key, attacca.

Although Brahms still complained in the early 1870s that he would probably "never compose a symphony" as he "always heard such a giant (Beethoven) marching behind him" , he repeatedly occupied himself with a "1st Symphony Movement" sketched in 1862 , on the basis of which he finally completed his Symphony No. 1 in C minor in 1876, a full 14 years later. The influence of the "giant" on the work was so striking that the conductor Hans von Bülow's bon mot soon made the rounds that it was Beethoven's "tenth symphony".

Looking back, Bruckner called his Symphony No. 1 in C minor, completed in 1866 and premiered in Linz in 1868, "Das kecke Beserl" . And indeed, what an impetuous work, what a revolutionary work! In 1865, Bruckner had learned his craft, internalized the compositional tradition and made the acquaintance of Richard Wagner's music. Equipped with these tools, he set off into new worlds with his first numbered symphony and confidently entered the musical field that he declared to be the most important for him: that of symphonic music.

Under the direction of Christoph Spering, Das Neue Orchester presents two symphonic experiments that should prove to be milestones in the development of the genre and thus worthy of the great role model of their creators.


Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)

Overture in C minor to Heinrich Joseph von Collin's tragedy Coriolan, op. 62 (1807)

Johannes Brahms (1833-1897)

Symphony No. 1 in C minor, op. 68 (1862-76, rev. 1877)

- Pause -

Ludwig van Beethoven

Overture in C minor to Heinrich Joseph von Collin's tragedy Coriolan, op. 62 (1807)

Anton Bruckner (1824-1896)

Symphony No. 1 in C minor, WAB 101 (1865-66) "Linz Version


The New Orchestra

Christoph Spering | Conductor

Subscribe to the newsletter ...

log on
Cookie Consent with Real Cookie Banner