Mi. 04.09.24
Open Air neben der Pfarrkirche Ansfelden
„Happy Birthday, Anton!“ – Konzert zu Bruckners 200. Geburtstag in Ansfelden

Franz Welser-Möst & The Cleveland Orchestra

Franz Welser Möst © Roger Mastroianni

"Happy birthday, Anton!" - Concert for Bruckner's 200th birthday in Ansfelden

Since 2018, the 4 September has marked the beginning of the International Bruckner Festival Linz, on the birthday of its namesake. The birthday concert to kick off the festival always takes place in Ansfelden, the place where it all began for Anton Bruckner. It was here that he was born in the servants' quarters of the school building and here that he was baptised in the parish church nearby on the very same day.

In 2024, well-wishers for this milestone birthday are justifiably of a prominent nature: The Cleveland Orchestra, known as the most "European" of the US American orchestras, and its chief conductor, Franz Welser-Möst, who hails from Linz, will do the honours and pay tribute to the jubilarian. An open-air performance will be held in the space between the parish church and the courtyard.

Following the prelude and "Isolde's Liebestod" from Richard Wagner's opera Tristan und Isolde, the nocturne par excellence, in tune with the open-air venue, will be Bruckner's Symphony No. 4 in E flat major. This was his first in a major key and it is one of the composer's most comprehensible and therefore most popular works. He himself named it theRomantic and this name paired with the many references to this have added to this. This applies in particular to the "1878/80 version" a highlight depicting nature in a variety of tones in the newly composed third movement. It became famous under the nickname "Jagd-Scherzo" . Its premiere on 20 February 1881 by the Vienna Philharmonic led by Hans Richter was a great success and represented an important 'stage victory' for Bruckner on his way to becoming a recognised symphonist.


20:15 Birthday concert

Richard Wagner (1813-1883)

Prelude and "Isolde's Liebestod" from the opera Tristan und Isolde, WWV 90 (1857-59)

- Pause -

Anton Bruckner (1824-1896)

Symphony No. 4(Romantic) in E flat major, WAB 104 (1874, 1876-78, 1880-81) "1878/80 version"


The Cleveland Orchestra

Franz Welser-Möst | Conductor

Subscribe to the newsletter ...

log on
Cookie Consent with Real Cookie Banner