Do. 26.09.24
Brucknerhaus Linz
Aneignen – Bruckners 3. Sinfonie im Originalklang

Pablo Heras-Casado & Anima Eterna Brugge

Pablo Heras Casado © Harmonia MundiI JavierSalas

Bruckner's symphonies in their original sound

Today, Anton Bruckner's symphonies are undisputedly among the summit works of the 19th century. Admittedly, we have become accustomed to hearing them performed on modern instruments whose sound does not correspond to the intentions of their creator. Bruckner wrote for string instruments with gut strings, which are both softer sounding and more blendable, and from 1868 explicitly for Viennese woodwind and brass instruments, whose colors were different from those we know from today's instruments. The result is a completely different overall sound, which allows Bruckner's music to appear in a new light. For the first time in the world, all eleven of Bruckner's symphonies will be performed in their original sound as part of the International Bruckner Festival Linz 2024, a journey of discovery in eleven concerts that can only be heard as a cycle at the Brucknerhaus Linz and there exclusively in Austria. The symphonies are always performed in their first version and thus in the form that Bruckner originally intended to give to each work, still unimpressed by the reactions of his fellow musicians. They are combined with compositions that owe their genesis to a similar impulse or were of exemplary importance to Bruckner, and they are performed by eleven of Europe's most renowned original sound orchestras under the direction of renowned conductors. A unique listening experience that only the Bruckner city of Linz has to offer in the Bruckner Year 2024.


Richard Wagner (1813-1883)

A Faust Overture in D minor, WWV 59 (1839-40, rev. 1843-44 & 1855)

Five poems for female voice and orchestra ("Wesendonck-Lieder"), WWV 91 (1857-58, 1893)

[Orchestration by Felix Mottl (1856-1911)]

- Pause -

Anton Bruckner (1824-1896)

Symphony No. 3 in D minor, WAB 103 (1872-73) "1873 version".


Christiane Karg | mezzo-soprano

Anima Eterna Brugge

Pablo Heras-Casado | Conductor

Subscribe to the newsletter ...

log on
Cookie Consent with Real Cookie Banner